paris paint art class english

Learn to Paint in Paris

One-day En Plein Air Oil Painting Classes with International Master Artist Michael Britton

Reviews from Summers of 2018 and 2019

I was very fortunate to have a session on my own with Michael. He provided lots of support and encouragement and even brought wine and nibbles to share after the event.

Colleen, Victoria, Australia
August 2019

Thanking Michael for this opportunity doesn't come close to the gratitude I wish to extend to him. For a truly authentic and satisfying painting experience in Paris, paint with Michael! I learned a great deal, particularly how not to over analyze one's painting and get stuck on details. In Michael's words - "Over-analysis breeds paralysis", "let the paint be paint" and most importantly ......... "paint like you don't give a hoot" :o) So, thank you Michael, for the thoughtful extra lovely touches too...the wine....the olives.....the cheese. UH-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I shall be painting with you again, with much gratitude, Belinda

Belina, Illinois, USA
August 2019

It was such fun painting with Michael! He is so organized and provided ALL the supplies and just the right amount of helpful instructions to help create our individual paintings, and then Michael supplied ALL the fixings for a wonderful picnic along the quai! Even though it was a very warm day, we were comfortable in the shade with a little breeze from the Seine. Thank you Michael for a memorable day!

Cinday, California, USA
August 2019

It was such fun painting with Michael! He is so organized and provided ALL the supplies and just the right amount of helpful instructions to help create our individual paintings, and then Michael supplied ALL the fixings for a wonderful picnic along the quai! Even though it was a very warm day, we were comfortable in the shade with a little breeze from the Seine. Thank you Michael for a memorable day!

Scott, California, USA
July 2019

Wow! What a unique and truly Parisian experience. We painted with professional materials and Mike was an excellent, funny, and patient teacher. After we painted, we sat down and enjoyed wine and cheese. Our paintings were nicely wrapped up so they won’t smudge and can dry carefully. We will cherish them and the memory forever.

Stephania, New York, USA
July 2019

Painting with Michael laid the groundwork for a week of wonderful firsts in Paris. His insight, knowledge and love for the city created an environment of wonder and excitement.

Robin
July 2019

An excellent experience.

Anatole, Pennsylvania, USA
July 2019

It was a great experience to paint on the Seine in Paris with Michael. He is knowledgeable and a good teacher. My daughter and I loved it. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese afterwards. Thanks Michael!

Janice, Washington, USA
July 2019

The class was very nice and inspiring to paint more.�

Natalia, Kiev, Ukraine
July 2019

Painting with Mike in Paris was such a great experience! He was extremely knowledgeable about his craft, and funny to boot. We would definitely recommend this experience!

Christina, Brisbane, Australia
July 2019

I had such an amazing day with Michael learning how to oil paint the Notre Dame on the Seine. It was a once in a lifetime experience and I'll always keep my finished painting as a keepsake of my Paris trip. Michael is a wealth of knowledge and a very good instructor. We also had a lot of fun and great conversation over cheese and wine! Thanks again, Michael!

Ashley, South Carolina, USA
July 2019

I would highly recommend having this wonderful painting experience with Mike. He provided clear directions and greeted us with a smile and even while putting the paints on the pallets he kept us entertained. As someone who has never done oil painting before, Mike was able to explain and deepen my appreciation for art. Overall the experience was great! The location had both shady and sunny areas and was very easy to find with his help. Throughout the whole lesson he was very thoughtful and insightful. He provided refreshments throughout. I enjoyed hearing more about his experience with art and would definitely do it again next time in Paris!

Molly, California, USA
July 2019

My son and I really enjoyed this experience. Neither of us had used oils and Michael made something that was intimidating easy and fluid. I would absolutely take this class again.

Jocylyn, USA
July 2019

This was an amazing experience!! I loved painting Notre Dame on the Seine. It was a pleasure to paint with Michael. He is knowledgeable and shares interesting stories. He has a good sense of humor as well. Most of all, I have a beautiful and unique oil painting that will remind me of my time in Paris! Michael is a great teacher! I would definitely recommend this experience! In fact, I am taking another class with Michael in a couple of weeks.

Janice, Washington, USA
July 2019

This experience was one of the best things I’ve ever done. The area that Michael chose along the river was picturesque and it was the perfect day to paint. If you have ever dreamed of painting with a real artist down the river while having wine and cheese then your dream can become a reality with Michael. Michael was a complete gentleman and explained how all the colours (oil paints) worked in with each other to get the right colour for your painting. Our group only knew a little about painting but Michael was so patient and understanding. There were four of us in total. Michael had everything set up ready to go at the river so you don’t need to bring anything. Just listen to Michael’s directions and then relax and paint. At the end of the day Michael wraps your painting up for you so you can take it home. It was so thoughtful! The only suggestion I have for Michael is to give people opportunities to sit down every 1.5hrs if they need to as I wasn’t used to standing for long periods of time so that may be welcomed by future participants :) I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone over any other painting classes as Michael is the only artist who will take you outside to paint in Paris and that’s what made it so special. This was one of my ticket items :)

Astra, Australia
July 2019

learning how to oil paint in Paris outdoors is something I’ll never forget. Very memorable experience.

Johnson, California
June 2019

Michael is the best!!! I gained a new perspective in painting! I enjoyed it so much and he is funny as well.

Richard, Philippines
June 2019

Wonderful, relaxing experience for all levels of artistic ability!

Rebecca, Pennsylvania
June 2019

Truly a wonderful experience. Michael uses his talent to not only help you become a better plein air painter, but also incorporates lessons of life to help bridge emotion & art. Painting on the River Seine wasn’t too shabby either!! Any traveler who wants a romantic painting experience should take this class. Thanks Michael!

Juliette, California
June 2019

Mr. Britton is a highly experienced artist who trained at the finest art schools in the US, and brings his gentle humor and deep knowledge to the easel, for the benefit of his students. He talks about the importance of "play" in one's work, and yet he also introduced us to advanced concepts of "notan" and the "premier coup" when organizing our work. He is a truly gifted and generous teacher, and I feel blessed to have been able to learn from him today. I plan to continue using what he taught us when I approach my own practice again. I do hope to take another class with him as soon as possible and recommend it to anyone wishing to immerse themselves in the beauty that is Paris.

Liz, France
June 2019

This experience was a lot of fun! Michael had a lot of knowledge to share and helped us out every step of the way. All materials were provided with a bonus impromptu picnic afterwards. Michael even had some carrying cases for transporting the paintings, which he built himself. The views couldn't have been more perfect. Definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a unique artistic experience of a lifetime.

Ashley, Washington DC
June 2019

A leisurely day with Michael doing outdoor oil painting was such an exhilarating experience for a first timer like me. He provides all the painting materials, water and snacks, all I needed was to bring myself to the park. He is knowledgeable, very friendly and patient, he will demonstrate and take you through the process step by step, when i doubted my drawing wasn’t good, he ensured me there’s no good or bad, every drawings is unique and it’s how one learn the techniques and express it in their own ways, at the end I was so happy with the master piece I created. Thank you Michael for igniting my passion to pursue further. I went on his website http://www.artacademy.com/ to learn more about his background, the experience, the knowledge you learned from him worth every penny.

Elisa, Hong Kong
June 2019

今天在Mike的帮助下画了我的第一张油画,Mike是很专业的艺术家,我今天学到很多,还需要回去消化一下新知识,和Mike聊天也很开心,他还准备了好喝的红酒,很值得的体验

Coco, Chongqing, China
August 2018

Michael is a lucid, warm, and insightful gentleman, who hosted us with great care during our four hour experience. As complete beginners, he was patient in showing us how to get going with mixing paints, getting our outline, and refining our work of art bit by bit. It felt like play, which was made better by Michael’s interesting stories, analogies, and facts about the history of art and the craft. He is obviously a knowledgable fellow. While painting, he was provide guidance on how to make the piece work better, whether it be composition, colour, features, subject focus — or helping me get the angles on the bridge right :) It was a lovely morning, with perfect weather, and many people coming around curious to know what we were up to. The best part is now being the proud owner of a piece of art of my own creation.

Jamie, London, UK
August 2018

Looking for an incredible Parisienne experience without the mobs of tourists milling about you? Today I experienced just that, Michael’s art class!! First, I must preface that you do not need to be a skilled artist in order to consider such an endeavor. I have little previous experience, and not a lot of natural ability, and I thoroughly enjoyed and benefited from this class. Micheal is extremely knowledgeable and talented, and delivers his instruction in a non judgmental and non intimidating fashion. He is able to give you the basics you will need in order to produce your own piece of art. I think, you too, will enjoy Micheal’s easy going style. He showed me that, as the artist, I have the ability to interpret and paint how I see fit, and to feel free to ignore any previously learned rigid, constricting norms. Acquiring this freedom was big for me. But seriously, a painting lesson on the banks of the Seine overlooking Notre Dame, walking in the footsteps of Monet, Renoir, Van Gogh!!! Wow, what a rush!! A unique experience that I would highly recommend!!!

Michele, Arizona, USA
August 2018

My first oil painting experience is great! Mike is very nice and good at painting. I'm a beginner at painting, Mike show us step by step and also help with some perfections. Good location in Paris, great experience! Thanks Mike. : )

Shuting, China
August 2018

It was such a pleasure painting with Michael! I learned a lot and the time flew by - I'd definitely recommend this if you're in Paris.

Melissa, California, USA
August 2018

A true Artisan experience. Mike taught me so much about oil painting and being able to unlock your inner artist and passion onto canvas in the likes of the impressionists. He also brings a lot of humour and great wine and food. A must for anyone wanting to live in the life of a Parisian and/or who wants to learn how to paint with oils.

Bronwyn, Newcastle, UK
August 2018

It’s a wonderful experience!! The teacher was very easy to understand, it was my first oil painting, but I got a very satisfying work! It was a lot of fun to eat snacks as they bred together with a river. I recommend you this class^o^

Yoko, Berlin, Germany
August 2018

I learned so much from Michael that I will be able to practice with on my own and enjoy. The idyllic setting for painting was a quiet and beautiful spot by the Sein. He gave us manageable steps to follow along with demonstrations and plenty of individual guidance. The time flew by as Micheal kept the pace going nicely. Afterwards, we sat down by the water and shared a bottle of wine and good French cheese and chatted about life in France. A wonderful Parisian experience.

Judith, Hawaii, USA
August 2018

Mike was wonderful to work with and is not only a talented artist but also has a great sense of humor! Our day painting with him was a dream!

Hanna, Chicago, USA
August 2018

Amazing class with thoughtful explanation of techniques and art history! Michael’s whit, knowledge and patience was the perfect harmony for this class. He encouraged us to paint with passion instead of fear and to not take ourselves too seriously! Michal broke out the painting into steps, allowing time to view everyone’s progress and indulge in French wine. I joined this experience as a solo traveler and felt perfectly comfortable at this experience. This may have been my favorite part of Paris! Can’t recommend enough!

Emily, New Jersey, USA
August 2018

The painting session with Mike was unforgettable!! He shared every details regarding the painting methods, and let us learn the little techniques what I really was looking for!! The place was calm and beautiful , the equipments were professional! The time just flu away without recognizing it! This was my best experience in Paris!! Thank you for that!

Barbara, Budapest, Hungary
August 2018

I agree with what previous reviews said about Michael's amazing painting lesson. He did a thorough job explaining each step of the painting process and made sure to provide excellent tips on paint mixing, composition, etc. Taking on a plein air painting in just 4 hours can seem difficult at first, but with Michael's expert guidance I found it much more manageable. After the lesson we had a lovely picnic along the Seine and he shared great stories of his world travels. He is a wonderful instructor as well as an interesting person.

Donna, California, USA
August 2018

Book this now! I was the only student for my class and got a private lesson with Mike. He sat us down in a shady spot by the Siene with a great view of Notre Dame and beautiful bridges. He taught techniques for how to compose your painting and how to get that impressionist feeling. Mike paints with you to demonstrate techniques. He’s very talented and several people even stopped to take photos of his work. It was hard work but I ended up with a nice piece to hang in my apartment. Mike’s also super easy to talk to and we ended up chatting for quite a bit throughout the class and afterwards when snacking on wine and cheese. He gave great recommendations on museums and neighborhoods to visit as well. He’s only in Paris for part of the year so make sure to book your class ASAP! Promise you won’t regret it.

Anna, New York, USA
July 2018

What a wonderful experience! Mike is a really excellent teacher. I had painted before but I definitely learned new things from him. He also has a really interesting background and it was neat to learn about it. I would totally recommend this experience and hope to take more classes from Mike in the future!

Kate, Wisconsin, USA
July 2018

Michael was very knowledgeable and encouraging. We were quite brave and went as beginners. Michael was personable and was excellent at giving step by step instruction in oil painting. We both left with memories and a lovely small painting to remember our time in Paris.

Leslie, Austria
July 2018

You really don't need to prepare any thing, just relax and go for it , no pressure at all, when I arrived everything was set up. Michael is patient always smile ,and willing to teach you how to paint ,after painting ,he prepared whole picnic set , cheese, red wine, cracker, prosciutto ....set, or laid down and chat beside the Seine .~sooooo enjoy Finally, he wrap up tectonically for you to bring home safety.

Cher, California
July 2018

Such a unique experience painting in front of Notre Dame. Michael is well prepared with picking the location (which is well shaded and peaceful) as well as providing panels, paints, aprons and of course snacks and wine. It was certainly wonderful taking a painting lesson (which I haven't done before) in such a beautiful environment. My friend enjoyed it so much she did organised another session with Michael the very next day! We all created our own different painting and it was such a fantastic souvenir of Paris.

Agnes, London, UK
July 2018

Just Imagine that u are sitting near Seina river , painting in Paris ,enjoying a glass of wine and having a picnic. Sure U don’t wanna miss this extraordinary experience ! And Mike is a great teacher and artist. Kind and patient. We had a great time together. This experience is Highly recommended !

Amanda, Tokyo, Japan
July 2018

Despite the other student not showing up, Michael was kind enough to proceed with just myself and I was fortunate to have a private class with a genuine master artist. It was a dream to spend three glorious hours out on the Seine in Paris learning to paint in the footsteps of the masters and I learned a lot. Michael is a rare artist with a gift for teaching and a great sense of humour. He demonstrates and explains in clear terms and his knowledge of painting and art history is extraordinary. Michael thought of everything and it was clear he is highly experienced in teaching and painting outdoors. To cap off the experience Michael provided wine and cheese which was the master stroke to end a perfect day.

Carly, Australia
July 2018

Michael was a good host and patient with my husband and I learning to use oils paints (both very much beginners). Unfortunately we started late waiting for another person on the experience so everything got behind schedule and since we had another experience that afternoon we did not have quite enough time to finish up our canvas. Even as a work in progress tho we like what we ended up with. :)

Jennifer, Washington, USA
June 2018

Michael is a great teacher and a talented artist as well!!! He encouraged to go for my ideas and helped me realise it. It's a wonderful experience and if I have chance in the future. I would definitely want to learn oil painting again with Michael:))))

Xinyi, China
June 2018

If you truly want to feel like a Parisian for a day: soaking in the local culture, thought of as an artist as people saunter by while staring at your work and painting along the serene Seine, sign up for Michael's "Paint Paris with a master artist's" experience. The setting he chose in itself is beautiful, but he adds the artistic skills acquired from Columbia University, his patience and his attention to details i.e. transporting the finished piece on a plane was a welcoming surprise. He supplies everything and thought of everything; you just need to show up. Then comes part 2 of this experience, sitting along the River convivially enjoying a French treat-like a native- was so relaxing. We learned about his journey to this point in his life, and since my D is looking to do the same, it was helpful to Q&A a real artist in the works. I would highly recommend! Merci, Michael, for an experience of a lifetime.

Mary, Ohio, USA
June 2018

I had a great time painting with Michael. He took us to a beautiful spot on the Seine with a view of Notre Dame and briefly introduced some of the site’s art history. He has a lot of experience teaching painting to different levels and ages- I’m a beginner and it was perfect. He’s a nice and interesting person and a very good host for the afternoon. The lovely French wine and snacks topped off the experience.

Jason, California
June 2018

Summer 2020 Workshop Schedule

Sundays & Wednesdays beginning June 7, 2020 to August 23, 2020
10:00 to 3:00
You will be informed of each day's location which will be within a short walking distance of the Metro

Workshops are taught in English.

Register here

Fee: Euro 97 (workshops are limited to four)
Payment can be made via Paypal or Zelle (requires a participating US bank, write me at michael-britton-workshops@artacademy.com for details)

Take two classes for a 10% discount!
Take three or more and get a 20% discount!

Private classes can be arranged.

Refunds: For a full refund contact me at least seven (7) days before your workshop is scheduled to begin.

Contact: michael-britton-workshops@artacademy.com

paris art class english paris art class english paris art class english
paris art class english paris art class english paris art class english

Michael Britton is a New York City trained artist (New York Academy of Art) who has taught several thousand artists (some of whom have gone on to full-time art careers as painters and teachers) in his several decades long career. He was the Artistic Director of the Vancouver Academy of Art, Canada for six years and has also taught drawing for Walt Disney Studios, amongst numerous other appointments throughout the United States, Europe and Asia. He is also the author of several art-training videos.

Michael is based in Paris, France.

paris paint art class english